abanderamiento, softbol, holguin
The secretary of the Party in Holguin and the Governor present the Flag to the local team.

Holguin hosts XXI National Softball Tournament of the Press   

The Union of Cuban Journalists (Upec) with the support of the highest political and government leaders of the province of Holguin, hosts from February 6 to 10 the XXI National Softball Tournament of the Press.

At the Sports Museum of the Major General Calixto García Íñiguez Stadium, a ceremony was held, presided over by Ernesto Santiesteban Velázquez, member of the Central Committee and First Secretary of the Provincial Committee of the Communist Party of Cuba in

Holguin; Manuel Francisco Hernandez Aguilera, deputy to the Parliament and Governor of Holguín; Germán Veloz Placencia, president of the Union of Journalists of Cuba in the territory, and Rafael Antonio Brown Sutherland, provincial director of Sports, as well as members of mass organizations and representatives of sports clubs.

From the hands of Santiesteban, Cerveceros Prensa Holguín received the flag that will accompany them in this sports meeting, while reaffirming their commitment to play for the victory in the tourney.

Hours before the flag ceremony, Santiesteban and Hernandez, checked the conditions of the conditions of the sports facilities and accommodation of the teams.

The XXI Jorge Luis Valdés Rionda in Memoriam National Press Softball Tournament will be attended by eight teams: National Media, Vaqueros, Isla de la Juventud, Las Tunas, Camagüey, Holguín, Ciego de Ávila and Sancti Spíritus.

This national event of fraternization among journalists, softball players for fun, had not been held since 2018 due to the passing of the Covid-19 and other economic reasons that did not allow its development.

In a special way this year, the event will be dedicated to the memory of Yurislenia Pardo Ortega, Upec president in Camagüey, who recently passed away.

The competition format, approved by the Organizing Committee and the directors of the participating teams, includes two pools of four teams a piece, which will play double-headers with each rival in its group.

The two best teams in each section will face each other in a semifinal (first of one group vs. second of the other) in search of the two squads that will play for the two teams that will fight for the title.

Medios Nacionales was placed in group 1 together with the teams of Vaqueros (Artemisa and Mayabeque), Las Tunas and Sancti Spíritus.

In group 2 will play hosts Holguín, Ciego de Ávila, Isla de la Juventud and Camagüey.

On February 9, the semifinal and final duels are scheduled (a single march) and a day later the return of all participants to their home provinces.

In this edition of the championship there will be a total of 120 softball players, who, for the first time, will be fully uniformed thanks to the efforts made by the Upec.

As a novelty, the Softball of the press will be represented by journalist Lilian Cid, who will be defending the colors of the squad of Las Tunas, thus becoming the first woman to play in this type of event.

The Tournament is the second largest event that involves journalists, only surpassed by the National Congress, it is in fact the largest outdor event of the press, which shows the importance and size of the competition, which will be played in the eastern province of Holguin.

The Tournament, which began in 1993, has been prestigious for journalists of the stature of Eddy Martin, Bobby Salamanca, Modesto Agüero, Roberto Pacheco, Ivan Lopez, Aurelio Prieto Aleman, Rodolfo Garcia, Sergio Ortega and Jesus Hernández, who managed the League for several years.

With information from Daimy Peña Guillén

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

20 − 18 =