We have 1164 guests and no members online

Cuban Baseball League: Back up Players Chosen
Top thrower Jose Angel Garcia will now play for Holguin. Photo:
The 40 back up players to play for the eight teams that qualified for the second stage of the Cuban Baseball League were chosen at a live TV show this Wednesday. According to sports journalists, Holguin team manager, Noelvis Gonzalez Matos, made the best selections among all his older and largest seasoned peers.

Those players were picked from the squads that ranked from ninth to the sixteenth position in the 55th season of the Cuban Baseball League (2015- 2016).

The national tourney will restart next December 15th, after a break for the Cuban participation in the Premier 12 and the slated for the weekend in Las Tunas.

Holguin that now stands sixth picked on good players, whose two first selections were top men for the mound. The first man to be chosen was thrower Jose Angel Garcia (Artemisa team, and Cuba team member to the Premier 12) and later, Yasmany Hernandez Rojas (the second most winning pitcher from Villa Clara team).

Then Gonzalez picked three offensive men: Yohandry Urgelles (outfielder from Havana but now playing for Artemisa), Yunier Mendoza (an infielder from Sancti Spiritus), and Reutilio Hurtado (an outfielder from Santiago de Cuba).

Ciego de Avila (defending champion): Ariel Borrero (an infielder from Villa Clara), Yeniet Pérez (an infielder from Villa Clara) – those two players repeat in the team -, Israel Sanchez (thrower from Artemisa), Leorisbel Sanchez (thrower from Cienfuegos), Yasmani Insua (thrower from Cienfuegos).

Industriales: Norberto Gonzalez (thrower from Cienfuegos), Yamichel Perez (thrower from Sancti Spiritus), Darien Perez (thrower from Mayabeque), Carlos Ramirez (thrower from Cienfuegos), Jayner Rodriguez (thrower from Mayabeque).

Pinar del Rio: Andy Sarduy (an infielder from Villa Clara), Dennis Laza (outfielder from Mayabeque), Yusniel Ibañez (outfielder from Cienfuegos), Lazaro Ramirez (outfielder from Villa Clara), Michael Gonzalez (an infielder from Mayabeque).

Granma: Maikel Castellanos (an infielder from Santiago de Cuba), Dairon Blanco (outfielder from Camaguey), Dayron Riera (thrower from Guantanamo), Ulfrido Garcia (thrower from Santiago de Cuba), Eriel Sanchez (catcher from Sancti Spiritus).

Las Tunas: Yoen Socarras (thrower from SSP), Yankiel Mauri (thrower from Sancti Spiritus), Orlando Acebey (an infielder from Sancti Spiritus), Edilse Silva (outfielder from Santiago de Cuba), Aldo Conrado (thrower from Sancti Spiritus).

Matanzas: Freddy Asiel Alvarez (thrower from Villa Clara), Javier Vazquez (thrower from Sancti Spiritus), Danger Guerrero (catcher from Mayabeque), Alexander Pozo (outfielder from Mayabeque), Dani Betancourt (thrower from Santiago de Cuba).

Isla de la Juventud (current runner-up): Julio Pablo Martinez (outfielder from Guantanamo), Felix Carbonell (catcher from Guantanamo), Jose Ramon Rodriguez (thrower from Camaguey), Andres De La Cruz (an infielder from GTM), Pedro Aguero (thrower from Guantanamo). / By Cubadebate / Translated by Radio Angulo.

Leave your comments

Post comment as a guest

0 / 500 Character restriction
Your text should be less than 500 characters


  • No comments found