We have 1266 guests and no members online

Esteban Lazo re-elected President of the ANPP
Esteban Lazo. Photo: Cubadebate
The newly sworn in IX Legislature of the National Assembly of Popular Power (ANPP), ratified Esteban Lazo Hernández in Havana today as President of the supreme organ of the Cuban State. With one hundred percent of the valid votes cast, Lazo Hernández was elected to a second mandate at the head of the Cuban legislature.

In the vice presidency of the ANPP was also ratified Ana Maria Mari Machado, with one hundred percent of the votes of the deputies present, and as Secretary to Miriam Brito Sarroca with 99.83 percent.

Lazo Hernández held the position for the last five years, a stage entirely dedicated to the National Assembly fulfilling its high responsibilities effectively.

In her remarks to the plenary, Gisela Duarte Vázquez, president of the National Candidacy Commission, highlighted the efforts made by the re-elected President to improve the functioning of the organs of Popular Power.

Advances in legislative work complement the political assessment of their actions, said Duarte Vázquez.

Deputy since 1981, Esteban Lazo Hernández is a member of the Political Bureau of the Central Committee of the Communist Party of Cuba and has extensive management experience.

Ana María Mari Machado, who holds the position of Vice President of the ANPP since 2012, with extensive preparation as a director and good results in her legislative work.

Mari Machado is a lawyer and trained in different responsibilities in the popular court system, from the municipality, to becoming vice president of the Supreme People's Court.

He chaired the National Electoral Commission in 2010, parliamentary since 2003 and member of the Central Committee of the Party since 2011.

As Secretary, she was ratified for a third term, Miriam Brito Sarroca, a deputy since 1998 and with extensive management experience.

The National Candidacy Commission made ample consultation with the 605 deputies to have the maximum information and consensus on the elected, taking into account their merits, ability, trajectory and vocation of service to the people.

During this day also the deputies will choose the 31 members of the Council of State, its President, First Vice President and Vice Presidents.

Within the newly constituted ANPP are present members of the historical generation of the Revolution, workers, peasants, educators, health workers and the non-state sector, people linked to the research activity, sports, the press, writers, artists, military, leaders and officials of political organizations, and representatives of other spheres of the country's socioeconomic life.

With information from Jorge Legañoa Alonso (ACN)

Leave your comments

Post comment as a guest

0 / 500 Character restriction
Your text should be less than 500 characters


  • No comments found